Lawmaker Named Co-chair Of Pritzker’s Education Transition Committee

Tuesday, December 4, 2018 || By Michael Romain || @maywoodnews 

A state lawmaker who represents many parts of Proviso Township was recently named to help lead a key committee that is part of Illinois Governor-elect J.B. Pritzker’s campaign transition.

State Rep. Emanuel “Chris” Welch (7th) was named a co-chair of Pritzker’s Educational Success Transition Committee. Pritzker and Lt. Gov-elect Juliana Stratton announced the appointment at a news conference held last month.

Welch is one of four co-chairs of the education committee. The other co-chairs include state Sen. Andy Manar, Illinois Education Association President Kathi Griffin and Chicago Public Schools CEO Janice Jackson.

Welch currently is the chairman of the House Higher Education Committee and sits on the House committee that is tasked with improving the state’s K-12 education funding.

“I am immensely proud of the vision J.B. and Juliana have laid out for Illinois, and humbled and honored they chose me to serve in this important role to help ensure we have a stronger, more successful system for educating our students from preschool through college,” Welch said in a statement.

“We have a big task ahead of us,” he said, “but bringing together this talented and experienced group of educators and policymakers will ensure the Pritzker administration is prepared to start on the right path to give Illinois children what they need to succeed.” VFP 

For more local news, ‘Like’ our Facebook page 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.